MOE Senior Executives & Stakeholders Visit Schools

The Honourable Anthony Garcia, Minister of Education and Senior Executives of the Ministry, along with representatives from the Trinidad and Tobago Unified Teachers Association (TTUTA) and the National Parent Teachers Association (NPTA) visited three schools in the St. George East Education District on Tuesday 22nd January, 2019. They met with Principals, teachers and students at Lakshmi Girl’s College, St. George’s College and Barataria Anglican Primary School to discuss a variety of issues at the institutions.

Minister Anthony Garcia said the objective of the school visits is to keep in touch with what goes on in our schools on a daily basis. “In all three schools, we were able to recognise the dedication and hard work of our teachers and the outstanding discipline of our students. This is important because in order to succeed in providing quality education to our students, there are some components we must bear in mind. One would be the quality of our teachers and the other is the discipline of our students. The three (3) schools we visited today have demonstrated that they have those two ingredients.”

Minister Garcia also singled out the St. George’s College for ensuring that students with Special Needs have the most suitable teaching and learning environment. “At St. George’s College, one of the things that impressed us the most is that the school takes care of children with Special Needs. As you know, if we are to ensure there is equity in our education system, every student must be catered for, every child must have an equal chance to a quality education and at this school St. George’s College, we saw that demonstrated forcefully, where a number of students with Special Needs are catered for and our teachers are doing everything possible to ensure their needs are met.”

TTUTA President, Lynsley Doodhai and three members of his Executive accompanied the MOE & NPTA officials. Mr. Doodhai described the visits as eye opening and informative. “I must say that from what was seen today, these three schools are on a solid footing with respect to the delivery of education to our students.”

Dr. the Honourable Lovell Francis, Minister of State in the Ministry of Education; Permanent Secretary, Lenor Baptiste-Simmons; Acting Chief Education Officer John Roopchan; Advisor to the Minister of Education, Cheryl Ann-Wilkinson; NPTA President, Raffeina Ali-Boodoosingh and Member of Parliament for Tunapuna,  Esmond Forde were  also part of the school visits.

Leave a Comment