Ministry of Education Logo GovTT Logo

Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago


Education Towers, No. 5 St. Vincent Street, Port of Spain, Trinidad

News Release                                                                                                                                                                                                              12th November, 2021

Dear Editor / Head of Department,


New G.A.T.E. Committee ready to Serve



The new Committee to provide operational oversight of the Government Assisted Tuition Expenses Program (GATE) was officially installed by Dr. the Honourable Nyan Gadsby – Dolly, Minister of Education, during a virtual ceremony on Thursday 11th November 2021.

The Board is chaired by Dr. Patrice Parris Searles, Chief Executive Officer (Ag.) of the National Training Agency (NTA), while Mrs. Muriel Alfred-James, Deputy Director of Budgets (Ag), Ministry of Finance, will serve as Deputy Chairperson, along with nine other members.  

Speaking at the installation ceremony this morning, Dr. Patrice Parris-Searles thanked members of the Committee for joining her in the journey to serve. “It is my absolute privilege to serve our Republic in this capacity and I wish to personally thank the Ministry for its consideration. Having reviewed the list of the persons similarly called to purpose, I am confident that this team possesses the competencies and experience to meet and exceed our mandate.” Dr. Patrice Parris-Searles reminded the committee of their important role and exhorted all members to answer the fundamental call by citizens for improved governance and accountability in all public matters.

In her feature address to the newly installed GATE Committee, Dr. the Honourable Nyan Gadsby – Dolly, Minister of Education, thanked them for their willingness to serve. According to the Education Minister, “we are in a situation now where we cannot advance the type of funding as before for this purpose, so the work of this Committee in determining how available funding is applied is critical.”

Dr. Gadsby-Dolly noted that the programme continues to be of invaluable benefit to those who wish to advance themselves professionally and emphasized that no wastage of precious resources can be countenanced. The Education Minister reiterated: “You are the keepers of the gate, literally, because it is this Committee which will recommend the programmes funded by the Government, and this will greatly impact the professional development of the future generation.”

The Government Assistance for Tuition Expenses Programme (GATE) is administered by the Funding and Grants Administration Division of the Ministry of Education, Tertiary Education Division. For more information please visit

About GATE Committee

The GATE Committee Members are appointed by the President of the Republic of Trinidad & Tobago and they will serve for a period of three (3) years. The following is a list of the Members of the Board of GATE:



Dr. Patrice Parris Searles


Mrs. Muriel Alfred-James

Deputy Chairperson

Mr. Kurt Meyer

Board Member

Mr. Urban Huggins

Board Member

Mrs. Nievel Niles – Rolingson

Board Member

Mrs. Shanmattee Singh Ng Sang

Board Member

Mrs. Meera Ramessar

Board Member

Ms. Roxanna Hall

Board Member

Mr. Curtis Floyd

Board Member

Ms. Kailash Jaikaransingh

Board Member

Ms. Antonia Ferrier

Board Member


The Corporate Communications Division

Ministry of Education

Tower A

#5 St. Vincent Street


622-2181 ext 1440