Ministry of Education Logo GovTT Logo

Government of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago


Education Towers, No. 5 St. Vincent Street, Port of Spain, Trinidad

18th June, 2021

Dear Editors                                                                                                                                                                                                          






Members of the newly appointed Board of the National Institute of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology (NIHERST) received their Instruments of Appointment from the Dr. the Honourable Nyan Gadsby – Dolly, Minister of Education at a virtual ceremony on Friday, 18th June, 2021.

The new NIHERST Board members were welcomed to the Education Ministry by Permanent Secretary Lenor Baptiste-Simmons, who articulated its mandate in the context of national development, reminding of “the critical role it plays in higher education by generating new ideas, processes and solutions to research and development and innovation.” Having collected their letters of appointment prior to the event, the ‘presentation’ of these instruments of appointment was symbolic, but no less significant, as it visibly demonstrated the seven member Board’s commitment to serve. New Chairman, Dr. Andrew Hunte, highlighted the Institute’s position in affording opportunities for citizens to produce the type of research that facilitates sustainable national development. “Our ideas, encapsulated in scientific knowledge and our unique creativity can be a catalyst for achieving the objectives outlined in the national development agenda for curriculum reform, transformative education, world class research activities, and economic sustainability”. He referred to the current environment as the 4th industrial revolution, and that our children needed to be equipped with the scientific knowledge, skills, ideas, and technological tools to advance our country, Trinidad and Tobago.


The Honourable, Lisa Morris-Julian, Minister in the Ministry of Education, thanked the members of the board for their selfless commitment to serve and saluted NIHESRT for their thirty-seven (37) years of service. Minister Morris-Julian said, “the pandemic has placed NIHERST first, as one of the most relevant boards and industries because of how much we now depend on innovation and technology.”

Feature remarks were delivered by Dr. the Honourable Nyan Gadsby – Dolly, Minister of Education, who challenged the Board to cement NIHERST’s importance and relevance. “The objective is to be indispensable on the education landscape.” The Education Minister shared that, “We have a chance to craft the future for our children, all of us are in touch with the younger generation and we know the challenges they are facing, and therefore we are well poised to do what we can to contribute to a better Trinidad & Tobago.” Minister Gadsby-Dolly went on to say that, “this COVID situation is the unthinkable, no one thought we would be in a position where our students are ‘out’ of school, and so our role now is to prepare the society for any eventuality so that these things will not derail us. Therefore when NIHERST is placed in this equation, the driving force behind that question will be you.”

About NIHERSH Board

The NIHERST Board Members are appointed by the President of the Republic of Trinidad & Tobago and they will serve for a period of three (3) years. The following is a list of the Members of the Board of NIHERST:



Dr. Andrew Hunte


Ms. Natasha Skinner – Rocke

Deputy Chairman

Mr. Barry Parasman

Board Member

Mr. Ian Haywood Jr.

Board Member

Mr. Kheston Walkins

Board Member

Ms. Sharon Baboolal

Board Member

Mr. Tafara Hove Masaisai

Board Member

NIHERST is a state agency, operating under the Ministry of Education. It was established as a statutory body by the Republic of Trinidad & Tobago Act No. 20 of 1984, with a mandate to promote the


development of science, technology and higher education in Trinidad and Tobago. The work of NIHERST involves: research and intelligence gathering to shape science policy and guide the funding of research and development, promoting innovation and commercialisation of technology in priority areas, building collaborative global relationships and fostering a culture of science, innovation and entrepreneurship.

The Corporate Communications Division Ministry of Education
Tower A
#5 St. Vincent Street

Port-of-Spain 622-2181 ext 1440