Ministry of Education Logo GovTT Logo

About the Ministry

The Ministry of Education, conveniently located in downtown Port of Spain, is a one-stop hub for all education-related matters.

The newly re-structured Ministry now has responsibility for the Scholarship and Advanced Training Division (SATD) as well as oversight for all tertiary education and institutions previously monitored under the former Ministry of Tertiary Education and Skills Training (MTEST). With most of its customer-accessed services located in one building on lower St. Vincent Street, and a dedicated customer service area, stakeholders have ready access to all their information needs.

The Ministry’s new home is comprised two structures, a sixteen floor tower and a five storey building, which houses its administrative offices and the Finance and Accounts Division.

Executive Team

The Honourable Anthony Garcia, Minister of Education
Dr. the Honourable Lovell Francis, Minister of State in the Ministry of Education
  • Dr. the Honourable Lovell Francis, Minister of State in the Ministry of Education
  • Permanent Secretary, Lenore Baptiste-Simmons
  • Permanent Secretary, Kurt Meyer
  • Chief Education Officer, Harrilal Seecharan
  • Deputy Permanent Secretary, Michelle-Anne Thomas
  • Deputy Permanent Secretary, Sharon Ashman-John
  • Deputy Permanent Secretary, Shoba Jaisir
  • Advisor to the Honourable Minister of Education, Ms. Cheryl Ann Wilkinson

The following divisions and units can be found offsite, at the following locations:

  1. Funding and Grants Administration Division, Warner Street, St. Augustine
  2. Rudranath Capildeo Learning Resources Centre (RCLRC), Southern Main Road, McBean Village, Couva
  3. Education District Offices:
    • Caroni Education District – Old Couva West Secondary School, Balisier Street, Couva
      Phone: 1-868-636-4839  Email:
    • North Eastern Education District – Savi Street, Boodooville, Sangre Grande
      Phone: 1-868-668-6256  Email:
    • Port of Spain and Environs Education District –Jerningham Avenue, Port of Spain
      Phone: 1-868-623-2315  Email: 
    • South Eastern Education District – No. 87 High Street, Rio Claro
      Phone: 1-868-644-2995  Email:
    • St. George East Education District – El Dorado Road, Tunapuna
      Phone: 1-868-645-7516 / 7520  Email:
    • St. Patrick Education District – No. 101 Farah Street, San Fernando
      Phone: 1-868-653-8957 / 3445  Email:
    • Victoria Education District – Nos. 16 -22 Sutton Street, San Fernando
      Phone: 1-868-653 0035 / 657 8829  Email:
    • Division of Education, Innovation and Energy  – Dutch Fort Plaza, Dutch Fort, Tobago
      Phone: 1-868-299-0781  Email: