Ministry of Education Logo GovTT Logo

The National Institute of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology (NIHERST)

The National Institute of Higher Education, Research, Science and Technology (NIHERST) is a statutory body established by an Act of Parliament in 1984 to promote science, technology and higher education in Trinidad and Tobago consistent with national development goals. The institute currently focuses on the development of a more diversified, knowledge-driven economy, based on the ingenuity of our people and their ability to create, adapt and use science and technology for wealth generation and national development. Its emphasis is also in advancing STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) education through its range of projects and programmes, many of which aim to strengthen the innovative, creative and entrepreneurial capabilities of the population. NIHERST is also engaged in research, including strategic foresighting exercises and sectoral innovation mapping studies in priority areas, to support economic diversification; conducting surveys in areas of interest in science, technology, education and services; and building global partnerships.

NIHERST Key Personnel

Ms Sylvia Lalla President (Ag.)

Contact Information

NIHERST National Science Centre
Corner Churchill Roosevelt Highway
and Old Piarco Road,
Website: Tel: (868) 642-6112/9371
Fax: (868) 642-1353

 NIHERST Head Office

77 Eastern Main Road,
St Augustine
Tel: (868) 663-6130/6988
Fax: (868) 662-0410

NIHERST Satellite Office (Port-of-Spain)

8 Serpentine Road
St. Clair
Tel: (868) 622-7505/9135
Fax: (868) 628-9689